×
{{ user.firstName }} {{ user.lastName }}

Aphasia CRE seminar – The three variants of primary progressive aphasia: What are they and what helps?


Aphasia CRE seminar series
  • Melbourne & Sydney  Wed 24 Feb, 5 pm (AEDT)
  • Brisbane – Wed 24 Feb, 4 pm (AEST)
  • Perth – Wed 24 Feb, 2 pm (AWST)
  • London  Wed 24 Feb, 6 am (BST)
     

Presented by Dr Anna Volkmer, University College London.

Register now for a Zoom webinar link via Eventbrite

About the speaker

Dr Anna Volkmer

Dr Volkmer completed her clinical training in speech and language therapy at University College London in 2002. Since then, she has worked clinically with adults with acquired communication difficulties, developing a particular interest in primary progressive aphasia in 2008 whilst working in Melbourne. She returned to the UK, and wrote a book on “Assessment and Therapy for Language and Cognitive Difficulties in Dementia and Other Progressive Diseases” (J&R Press).

During her PhD, Dr Volkmer developed and piloted a communication partner training intervention for people with PPA and their families, entitled Better Conversations with PPA (BCPPA). She is now employed as a lecturer and senior researcher at UCL, continuing her research in this area. She also continues to work clinically, at the National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery in London, and is the co-lead of the PPA support group at UCL.

Previous seminars are available to view online

Seminar recordings are available on the Aphasia CRE website resources page approximately 1–2 weeks after the event.

See the most recent seminar:

  • Seminar #15 – Preservation of singing skills and rehabilitative efficacy of music in stroke and aphasia, Associate Professor Teppo Särkämo. University of Helsinki.